Fantastical Places: Part 3

This will be the last post on fantasy locations for a bit. Or at least until I find somewhere else to write about. (I could always gush about New Zealand I suppose, but I do try to keep my obsessions under control. Sometimes.)

If you’re anything like me, you’ve most likely wanted to live in a palace or a cottage just like the ones mentioned in fairytales and stories. Well, we’re not the only ones. There is a whole style of architecture called, appropriately enough, storybook style.

Chaplin Court

Homes built in the storybook style might be castles or cottages. Most seem to have been built in the 1920’s and 1930’s. They are always unique and easy to distinguish from any other type of house or building.

Storybook Cottage

All the pictures and info I’ve used here came from Storybookers.com, which is a great website that gives far more information than I have about what constitutes storybook style. It also has further reading suggestions, galleries of some of the houses, and links to storybook style buildings.

I suppose the best word to describe this all would be: Charming.

Bogart House

Leave a comment