Jupiter Ascending

Am I the only one who liked this movie? Granted, it had plenty of problems but overall I enjoyed it. (Disclaimer: I wanted to like this movie. And generally when I want to like something, I do.)

Jupiter (played by Mila Kunis) is an illegal immigrant from Russia, spending her days as a house cleaner with her mother and aunt. But it turns out she’s actually a genetic copy of a Queen (sort of) and she gets thrown into a dynastic struggle between the heirs of that queen that takes her throughout space with, naturally, nothing less than the Earth itself at stake. It’s got Channing Tatum as a love interest, Sean Bean as a helper/protector/guide (who DOES NOT die – astounding!) and Eddie Redmayne as the villain.

It’s silly and a bit overblown and sometimes feels like it might be taking itself a bit too serious but I found it to be a fun movie. Done by the same people that made the Matrix trilogy and Cloud Atlas, it’s absolutely gorgeous to look at. There are flaws (including a penchant for Jupiter to rarely travel beyond the damsel in distress) but if you’re looking for a fun movie to spend a few hours, you could do worse than this one.

4 thoughts on “Jupiter Ascending

  1. jubilare says:

    I’d barely heard anything about it. It certainly has eye-candy, though! Redmayne looks like he spends most of his time chewing scenery. I enjoy a good scenery munching session. 😉
    As for the rest, I’ll have to give it a shot and see what I think.

    Like

    • Mary says:

      Yeah, I think most people never heard anything about it. It kept getting pushed back and I never saw many previews for it. And Redmayne is definitely chewing scenery. And I have to admit this is the first time I’ve seen Channing Tatum in a movie and thought he was attractive- although I can’t really think of many movies of his I’ve seen…

      Anyways, if you see it I, of course, would love to hear what you thought of it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • jubilare says:

        I don’t think I’ve seen C.T. in anything. The cooing over him that I hear from so many women, though, makes me disinclined to find him attractive. But I believe we’ve discussed our common contrariness before. 😉

        Like

      • Mary says:

        Ha, indeed we have! Perhaps I found him attractive because this was the first time I’ve seen him in a movie I liked; his usual movies seem to be frat comedies or sappy romances. Blegh!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

