CHAPPiE

Happy New Year!

There’s a lot of great stuff in the fantasy/sci-fi realm coming out in 2015 but the one I’m most excited about is CHAPPiE. I’ve been seeing the previews a lot recently in front of movies that are out already and while I realize that previews are meant to make movies look as appealing as possible, CHAPPiE‘s got a lot going for it.

CHAPPiE‘s written and directed by Neill Blomkamp, the same guy behind District 9 (excellent) and Elysium (not as excellent). It looks weird, but also uplifting, which is nice because how often do we see that in movies about advanced AI? CHAPPiE started out as a short video called Tetra Vaal that you can see here.

It comes out on March 6th.

Another movie this year that looks pretty exciting is Ex Machina. A bad AI movie (maybe?), it stars Domhnall Gleeson and Oscar Isaac and is directed by Alex Garland (who also directed Sunshine, 28 Days Later and Dredd).

What are y’all excited about this year?

5 thoughts on “CHAPPiE

  1. jubilare says:

    I certainly hope CHAPPiE is uplifting, as the opposite will hurt. … a LOT. The other looks like it has quite the mind-bender thriller premise. 🙂

    I’m… more terrified than excited, about the prospect of the new Terminator film. The last two… I pretend they don’t exist, but I’m a fan of I and II, and I am intrigued by the idea of a terminator-raised Sarah Connor. There’s a lot of potential for horribleness, though, so… yeah. We shall see. I haven’t gone trailer-hunting, though.

    Like

    • Mary says:

      Both District 9 and Elysium ended on an upbeat note (sort of?) so I think we’ve got a pretty good chance with CHAPPiE.

      I saw the preview for the new Terminator. I can’t tell you whether it looked good or not because the only Terminator movie I’ve seen was the last one they made with Christian Bale! Ha, I really don’t understand how I’m not more interested in that series since it has everything I like: cool, tough chick as the heroine, cyborgs (or is he full machine?), lots of fun, sci-fi action. Well, I’m requesting it right now from the library. Maybe I just need to see it to get into it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jubilare says:

        I haven’t seen Elysium, but District 9 was bittersweet, with a good amount of bitter. It was good, any other ending might have been either too dark or too sweet, but I don’t want to cry over CHAPPiE! Cute-eared robot. 8_8

        Here’s some non-spoilerific thoughts, then. Terminator I is a horror-flick. I don’t usually like horror flicks, but this is a pretty good one, with a lot more suspense than action. Not, of course, that it doesn’t have some great action. I have some issues with James Cameron, but he is a darn good director. The film shows that off (and is largely responsible for launching his career).

        Keep in mind, though, that it SCREAMS 80’s culture. From the rooftops. We’re talking hair, clothes, synth-music, the works. Be prepared. 😉
        Also, Sarah doesn’t reach her full badassery potential until T2, so be prepared to see her scream and cower a bit. Part of the fun of T2 is seeing the change in her between the films.

        T2, is more of a sci-fi action thriller. It still has creepy elements from T1 (murderous machines, oh my!) but its themes are more complex. Also, it screams 90’s the same way T1 screams 80’s, and the kid is… well, I find him pretty obnoxious. Still, I think it’s a great film. Most people I know prefer it to T1.

        T3 wasn’t written by the same people, I don’t think Cameron had anything to do with it, and… it’s bad. Just… bad. Interesting concept, but such poor writing and poor execution that it’s painful. The best I can say for it is that there were a few funny lines.

        T4, the one you saw, didn’t strike me as a horrible movie, but as a horrible Terminator movie. I only saw it once, so I don’t remember much, but I do remember that it made little sense in the mythology of the series, and I’m not sure anyone involved with the previous films was on board with it.

        For T5, at least, they got Gale Anne Hurd and James Cameron on board, so… here’s me being very cautiously hopeful.

        And yes, cyborg. “living tissue over a metal endoskeleton.” 😉

        Once you’ve seen T1 and T2 (assuming you get that far), and provided you’ve also seen Back to the Future, you must watch this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBBw9E2Q_aY It is one of my favorite mashups ever. 😄

        Like

      • Mary says:

        I don’t remember much about T4 either. I was confused by it, mainly because I had only the basic idea of what the whole series was about. I was dragged to it by a friend and only went at all because of Christian Bale- I’ve been taken with him since I first saw Newsies. So, really, I’ll watch most anything he’s in.

        I’m really looking forward to this now! Aggressively 80’s culture? A healthy dose of horror/suspense? A chance to catch up on pop culture references? YEAH. Let’s DO this.

        Like

  2. jubilare says:

    Ah, Newsies. I remember when my friends and I were obsessed with that movie. ^_^ I like Bale. He’s not in my top-ten actors, but I do like him. He’d have made a good John Connor, too, if the writers had understood the world of Terminator better.

    ^_^ I hope you enjoy it! I think it’s darned good entertainment, and there’s no doubt that both films have left deep marks on the pop-culture and sci-fi landscapes. Between Skynet, Hal 9000, and the M.C.P., it’s a wonder I ever had the guts to go near a computer. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

