Advent Time!

ChristmasDecoration

Today is the first of December. Thanksgiving is over (hope it was lovely for all my American friends), the snow is falling on WordPress blogs, and yesterday was the first Sunday of this Advent Season. Which means that it is now socially acceptable to begin celebrating Christmas. Last year I wrote about my love of Advent Calenders after discovering a fantastic online Tolkien Advent calender with the chance to win a personalized Tolkien book collection. I just revisited that site today (tolkienchristmas.com) and it seems to be going again this year. Maybe. There are still clues to answer but no links to little Tolkien treasures like there were last year and I can find no mention of it on the hosting website (tolkien.co.uk). But…it won’t hurt to try right? The good news is that all the links from the calender last year still seem to be working so here’s the link to last year’s treat from today: an illustration by Jemima Catlin.

Father Christmas

Father Christmas

I also mentioned a series of posts on favorite Christmas carols written by Jubliare. Those are also still available to be read and you can begin here with O Magnum Mysterium. (Or read them all thoughtfully compiled here!)

christmascarol

And here’s something new for this year: an Advent Calender from Weta Workshop! (EDIT: I’m afraid that Weta link might be user specific. So if it doesn’t work for you, you can always try and pull it up through their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/WetaWorkshop) It too unlocks a door every night at midnight (New Zealand time) and offers a little treasure for us to enjoy each day until Christmas.

1stAdvent

Does anyone else have any links to other Advent Calenders? I would love to know about them! (Even if they are only pictures of physical ones!)

4 thoughts on “Advent Time!

  1. jubilare says:

    Alas, the Weta link does not work for me. 😦

    Thank you for the nod, though, and the reminder about the Tolkien advent calendar! 😀

    I wanted to do more carols this year, but it looks unlikely. Perhaps I will pull together the ones from last year, and then do one more for Christmas. I might be able to manage that.

    Like

  2. jubilare says:

    I figured it out. Apparently I had to be signed into FB. O_o

    Like

Leave a Reply

