Interstellar

This was not a movie I planned on seeing, at least not in the theater. I like Christopher Nolan; Momento, the Batman movies, and Inception were all good movies that hold up well under repeated viewings. But I don’t particularly like Matthew McConaughey or Anne Hathaway and, well, we all know how I feel about Space. But a friend wanted to see it on a mutual day off so I obliged, knowing there was very little chance it would be outright bad.

Sometime in the future, the Earth is dying. Crops are failing and the atmosphere is steadily growing worse. Humanity’s only hope for a future is to find a home somewhere else.

I’ve had this post sitting in my drafts now for about 2 weeks, trying to figure out what to write about this movie. If you’re going to see the movie in theaters, you probably already have and I would love to hear your thoughts on it.

But here are mine. It’s a lovely movie, about exploration and bravery, about love, about hope, about the best of what makes us human. But it’s also about what makes us monsters, the fear and loneliness, pride and stubbornness that lead us down paths with no return. I can’t speak to the accuracy of the science or even, if I’m honest, if the science makes the least bit of sense at all. It’s just not something I understand well and there are plenty of other places that can explain it better than me. But it works for the story and ultimately that’s all I’m interested in.

So what did you think?

Leave a Reply

