Have a Very Merry (Tolkien) Christmas

Father Christmas

Father Christmas

We are now solidly in the Advent season, a time of joy and celebration for the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ! If you’re looking for some lovely carols to listen to, Jubilare is doing a series this month with some of her favorites. Start here!

I’ve had very few in my lifetime but I have always been enthralled by Advent calendars, even the cheap cardboard ones with the poor quality foil-wrapped chocolate pieces inside. The joy of looking forward to a new gift each day while getting closer and closer to Christmas? You would have to be a pre-reformed Scrooge not to love that!

Bah. Humbug.

Bah. Humbug.

But, alas, most Advent calenders are expressly made for children (unless you’re buying the Starbucks one, (maybe check your local store?) which I strongly suggest you keep far, far away from children). Do not despair though, dear reader! For I come to you today with a calender for Tolkien fans. Simply go here to sign up and begin your first clue: tolkienchristmas.com. In theory, this advent calender is meant as a contest to win some personalized Tolkien books. But the real joy here is that every day you answer a simple question with a link to a special Tolkien related item. Perhaps an illustration, or a map, or, like today, a link to a rare recording of Tolkien reading a chapter from The Hobbit (“Riddles in the Dark”!). You might want to save each link as you get them, as it seems very hard to find them again once you have answered the question or closed the page. Have no fear, though! With my internet prowess, I have managed to bring you the links to each previous day!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

Day 9

Day 10

Day 11

Day 12

Day 13

Day 14

Day 15

Day 16

Day 17

Day 18

Day 19

Day 20 (Final day!)

I will try to keep these updated as the month progresses; it would be a shame to lose these treasures.

Also in Tolkien news: The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug opens on Friday! I haven’t read any full reviews yet but the general consensus seems to be that it is good and better than the first one. However, as one fan pointed out, so was Attack of the Clones.

8 thoughts on “Have a Very Merry (Tolkien) Christmas

  1. jubilare says:

    I am hoping that this will be under the tree for me this year: http://www.amazon.com/J-R-R-Tolkien-Audio-Collection/dp/0694525707/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1386787018&sr=1-1&keywords=jrr+tolkien+recording

    šŸ˜„

    I am trying not to dread Desolation, though. I think if I forget it is supposed to have any connection with the book that I might enjoy it. I have heard that it diverges greatly from the story, as if the original is not good enough to be translated into film. šŸ˜¦

    Like

    • Mary says:

      That would be an amazing gift indeed!

      I am not expecting much from Desolation. I am looking forward to some of my favorite bits, like Beorn, but I know this movie (and the next) will only be thinly based on the book. I want to like it, so I probably will, but it would have been nice if Jackson had been as faithful to this story as to LotR (not that there weren’t some horrid changes made to those).

      Like

      • jubilare says:

        I can handle most of the changes in the LotR films because they got the tone pretty much right. They lost the tone of the Hobbit early on and are making it, instead, a campy prequel to LotR. That makes me very sad. The Hobbit was never a prequel to LotR, but it’s own thing with its own tone. It would be great if, one day, we get a film-maker willing to respect that, eh?
        Ah well. The Hobbit movies will, at least, be beautiful.

        Like

      • Mary says:

        Ha, yes! If nothing else, we will have a trilogy of gorgeous New Zealand landscapes.

        Like

  2. Briana says:

    I’m quite sad I missed the first 11 days! No prize for me, I guess!

    On the bright side, I do own the Tolkien Audio Collection, so I can listen to it to cheer myself up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

