Another Liebster Award!

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award again! And as this just means I get to answer another round of fun questions I will accept wholeheartedly.

Nominated this time by the lovely ladies at the Egotist’s Club.

Without further ado, the questions and my answers:

1) What leader (from history or fiction) would you follow into the very jaws of death? Why?

Well, Faramir from Lord of the Rings, obviously. Wise and gentle, yet strong and courageous. Even Eowyn, a shieldmaiden of Rohan, recognizes his value and that he would be unmatched by any of the Rohirrim (who are essentially idealized Vikings of the plains).

Also, Croaker from The Black Company series by Glen Cook. Croaker starts out as the company doctor and over the several decades covered by the series ends up as the Commander. He’s intelligent, cynical, gruff when needed and kind when needed. He does not make the men under him do anything that he would not or has not done himself. And if you have to enter into a life or death situation, I would rather have someone leading me that understands sacrifice.

2) Would you rather be an old-fashioned bard wandering around and telling stories, or a modern-day writer? Why?

Old-fashioned bard, absolutely.  Bards knew all the stories and were generally given positions of honor in the house they were visiting because they were one of the few entertainments available in a time before modern technology. And I don’t just mean the internet and tv but even readily accessible books. Granted, the freedom and prestige of a position was restricted a bit by having to rely entirely on wealthy patrons but it has a romance to it that I just can’t shake.

3) What musical instrument best communicates your personality? How or why?

I guess I would have to go with a fiddle on this one. I might seem a bit like the coldly formal violin when you first meet me, but get to know me and I’ll loosen right up.

4) If you had a hedgehog, what would you name it, and why?

(I happen to live in one of the few states that does not allow hedgehogs. This is an absolute travesty.)

I would probably name it the horribly and embarrassingly un-clever “Hedgie”. I had a book growing up called Miss Jaster’s Garden about a hedgehog (simply called Hedgie) and his human friend (Miss Jaster) that lived near the sea. I had no idea what a hedgehog was at the time but the book still holds a special place in my heart. But I might name it something else. Pet names have generally been spur of the moment decisions for me based on either characteristics of the pet (hence, a cat named Fluffy- I swear she was part Persian) or names that I happened to like at the moment of naming (hence, another cat named Simon, who narrowly avoided the name of Wildthing).

5) If you could tell high school students one thing that would influence them for the rest of their lives, what would it be and why?

That the past four years don’t matter. I know that sounds horrible, and it’s not even entirely true, but high school is such a time of drama and petty tragedies that we place far too much emphasis on. The things learned in high school may or may not come in handy, and any character building will stay you forever but I’m about 10 years on from high school and you know what? Nobody really cares about that part of my life. It doesn’t come up in jobs, new friends don’t usually ask any details about it, and I myself rarely think of it.

I also think that the recent rise of YA fiction as a literary powerhouse has contributed (dangerously) to the idea that life in high school is the Most. Important. Thing. EVER. I respectfully disagree.

6) What is the very first book you would read aloud to your baby, and why?

To my baby? Honestly, it will probably be something along the lines of Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See or maybe Goodnight Moon. Something simple with appealing pictures. Once they get to toddler-ish age I’d start reading them the same collection of Richard Scarry stories that I learned to read from. And once they get even older, Narnia. Definitely Narnia. I will always regret that I tried to read the Narnia books too old and could not enjoy them- they seemed too simple and a tad patronizing. It wasn’t until I was an adult and could understand the Christian story behind them that I grew to love them.

7) What are your thoughts on Disney acquiring Star Wars?

The emotional equivalent of a wavy line. I’m not indifferent but I’m withholding judgment until the new movies come out. Disney might be able to curb George Lucas’ attempts to “fix” things unnecessarily but I’m terrified Leia is going to end up as a Disney Princess.

8) What qualities of leadership do you possess?

I’ve never considered myself a leader. As an introvert, I’ve always tended to be a bit of a loner and very much an observer. So if a leader is doing the right thing and deserves to be followed? Great, count me in. But I like to flatter myself that I have never done anything simply because it was what everyone else was doing. That being said, I have been described as being a servant leader so I suppose I am good at seeing something that needs to be done and doing it. Generally in the background. Let someone else deal with the spotlight!

So there we go. And now dear reader, I would love to hear your responses to one or all of these questions.

Leave a Reply

