ParaNorman

I heard how good ParaNorman was when it first came out. It got a little overshadowed by Frankenweenie I think but it still ended up winning a lot of awards and getting a lot of buzz. The other night I was browsing Netflix for something to watch and ParaNorman jumped out at me. I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a huge fan of zombies so I was a little reluctant but Netflix isn’t really big on movies anymore and I wasn’t particularly interested in watching another TV episode. And it’s October! Time to start scaring myself silly.

Norman Babcock is an unusual little boy. He can talk to the dead. His family thinks he’s weird and the rest of the town thinks he’s a freak. He has no friends until Neil, another bullied school mate, obstinately decides to be Norman’s friend. Things get a little out of hand when Norman finds out he’s the only one that can prevent a town curse cast by a witch burned at the stake by the Puritan town founders.

This was a really sweet movie and I enjoyed it far more than I thought. But considering that ParaNorman was made by the same people who did Coraline, that should not have been a surprise. There were plenty of nods to other horror movies but it was funny enough to keep me from cowering under the couch in terror. And that turned out to be a good thing because the ending was surprisingly scary. So if you’re looking to ease your way into the scary movie season, this would be an excellent movie to start with.

6 thoughts on “ParaNorman

  1. I enjoyed it as well. Surprisingly good and I liked the theme of people turning out not to be what other people thought they were.

    Like

  2. CMrok93 says:

    Great review. This flick was a little too slow at times for me, but for the most part kept me entertained with its humor and energetic voice-cast. Especially the little fat kid, who was not only was cute as anything, but also nailed every time he had a funny line.

    Like

  3. jubilare says:

    I’ve been wanting to see this. My parents liked it, and as they are picky, that is usually a good sign. Frankenweenie, on the other hand, was a disappointment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

