After Earth

Final total for The Hobbit viewings: 3. Twice in 2D and once in HFR 3D. There were some pretty interesting trailers shown, including this one (at all three viewings) for After Earth.

That’s a pretty good trailer! It certainly achieved the desired purpose since I am now looking forward to seeing it when it comes out.

A little bit about the movie:

  • It’s directed by M. Night Shyamalan. Hm, ok. Shyamalan’s only real good movie was The Sixth Sense and his past few movies have been pretty awful. Will this movie break his bad streak? Let’s hope so. And let’s hope that there is no crazy twist at the end.
  • Starring Will and Jaden Smith. They were adorable and fantastic in The Pursuit of Happyness and I actually loved Jaden in The Karate Kid. Will this be a repeat success?

It really looks fantastic and sounds like it could be an interesting coming of age movie in a sci-fi setting.

After Earth opens June 7. More information on the movie can be found at imdb and the official website.

5 thoughts on “After Earth

  1. jubilare says:

    You and I share the same Hobbit count. 🙂 I really did not like the high frame rate.

    Also, I like “Unbreakable.” It makes me sad that it gets lost in the shuffle of Shyamalan’s more ham-fisted work.

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    I saw the high frame rate between the 2D viewings. I still liked the HFR version but the last 2D viewing was better than the first. I think the audience experience had a LOT to do with this. I feel like I’m one of the few people that actually liked the HFR version; very strange, since I don’t normally like 3D or even HD shows/ movies. Like I’ve told friends- I like my escapist fiction to look fuzzy and unrealistic!

    I’ve seen Unbreakable and I wasn’t that impressed. It was alright but there were several things with the acting and the tone that really grated on me. It’s not a movie I think I would choose to watch again, although it was definitely better than most of his other movies.

    Like

    • jubilare says:

      To me, the HFR felt unrealistic and because of that it failed to be immersive. It kept distracting me. 😦

      I found the characters very flawed and human. I’ve seen it several times, and I think it holds up better, over time, than Sixth Sense.

      Like

      • Mary says:

        Yeah, that was the most common complaint I heard about the HFR. In some ways, I was a bit distracted by it as well but I think that was more the 3D format than the frame rate.

        Maybe I shouldn’t give up on Unbreakable yet. I’ll probably give it a year or so and then try to watch it again, after its had some time to stew in my brain.

        Like

  3. jubilare says:

    The 3D did make it worse…

    Sometimes stewing helps, and sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes we just don’t like certain things. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

