Once Upon A Time

I’m so happy that fairy tales are popular again. And I love when they are done well. I wrote about the ABC series Once Upon A Time briefly last year. I managed to watch the first 4 episodes when the series started but not having a TV and losing internet access soon after meant that my connection with the series was short lived.

The major players

Season 1 came out on DVD recently and I got a copy. And then went through the entire series in about a week. Because OHMYGOODNESS THIS SHOW IS AMAZING. I absolutely loved it. They take some liberties with the stories but it works out well.

Emma Swan

In case you haven’t seen or heard of the series, all of the story book characters that we know and love have been cursed. They now live in the little town of Storybrooke, Maine where they remember nothing of their previous lives (with a few exceptions!). The Evil Queen Regina has placed a curse on them all to remove their happy endings to get revenge on Snow White for taking away hers. It’s now up to Emma Swan to try and save them all.

The Evil Queen Regina

SPOILERS TO FOLLOW. SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS.

Like I said, they take some liberties with the stories they use. The Evil Queen is the evil queen for a number of stories, not just Snow White’s. Rumpelstiltskin does double duty as the Beast (as in Beauty and the Beast) as well as being the villain for a number of other stories. Little Red Riding Hood is actually a werewolf. And some characters, like Jefferson/the Mad Hatter aren’t in a fairy tale at all. But all of the major elements are there in the stories to make it clear which ones are being told.

Prince Charming

And like any good fairy tale, there are lots of love stories. Snow White and Prince Charming get a lot of screen time as do their Storybrooke altar egos Mary Margaret Blanchard and David Nolan. But my favorite (introduced in the episode “Skin Deep”) is between Rumpelstiltskin and Belle. It is lovely beyond words and when they reunite in the season finale, I was definitely tearing up a bit. Of course, Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale and Robert Carlyle as Rumpelstiltskin/Mr. Gold is my favorite character on the show so there’s not much competition there.

Season 2 just started a few weeks ago and I can’t wait to get started on it. I’ve seen a few hints about some new characters that are going to be introduced and I’m so curious to see what will happen now that the curse is broken. (Also, I really want to see more of Mr. Gold and Belle.)

Snow White

Season 1 is available on DVD and Netflix, among other places. Season 2 is available on huluplus (which means you have to pay) or on the official Once Upon A Time ABC website (free but not sure how long the episodes stay on the site- as of today all 5 full episodes are available. A more direct link to the episodes here).

6 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time

  1. […] been thinking a lot about it for the past year or two, probably due to the influence of watching Once Upon A Time, but I’ve been unable to find it. Netflix was not carrying it, copies on Amazon were […]

    Like

  2. I really prefer Grimm to Once Upon a Time. I couldn’t find if you had reviewed Grimm.

    Like

    • Mary says:

      I watched about half of the first season of Grimm and I liked it as well. I did a mini review here: https://grimmella.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/fairy-tales-on-tv/

      I haven’t watched it since although I have wondered how it’s going. (Not owning a tv really inhibits my tv watching!) Perhaps I’ll get around to watching more of it eventually. What about Grimm makes you like it better?

      Like

      • I don’t have a TV either I watch it on Hulu (free). Unfortunately the back episodes are behind a pay wall. (Sometimes I think networks want their shows to fail.)
        I think I like that it is a cop show. Once Upon a Time is more of a soap opera. I prefer crime dramas in general over soap operas. Grimm also has some of the writers from Buffy the Vampire Killer. It has some of the same feel as Buffy. By the end of the second season Nick has his “Scooby gang” together. Although Monroe is my favorite character.

        Like

      • Mary says:

        Once can be very soap-opera-ish at times although I like what they do with the fairy tales enough to overlook that. I generally have a hard time with cop shows because I feel they get a bit repititive. But I really need to watch more of Grimm before making that decision about it!

        Like

      • There are some longer plot arcs in Grimm. There are personal relationships that develop and a secret rebellion against the supernatural Royal families. Nick also has to deal with the fact that the Grimms have been indiscriminate killers for centuries. His decision to only bother shape changers if they commit crimes is unusual for a Grimm and takes some getting used to for the shape changers. There is also some humor. I need some humor in my shows.

        Like

Leave a Reply

