Looper

I have a quirk where the more popular something is, the less I want to like it. Many times, I will dislike something simply because it is popular. For example, Harry Potter (although there are other reasons why I don’t like Harry). I can usually get around this if I discover the thing on my own, like I did with Neil Gaiman, who is pretty much a rock star in the literary world.

I run into this problem a lot with movies too. If a movie gets a lot of hype before I get a chance to see it, I tend to pick it apart when I finally watch it.

I was afraid this was going to happen with Looper. I (and you too probably) have been hearing about it for months and early reviews all claimed that the movie was amazing. Even after it opened last weekend, friends were exclaiming how good it was (except for one, who absolutely hated it). So I decided to go see it before the hype threw me off it completely.

Well, I didn’t hate it but I’m not sure I particularly liked it either. I’m not going to discuss plot too much; it’s complicated to explain and other places have done it better than I could. I’m just going to give my thoughts on it, so if you haven’t seen the movie yet, this won’t make much sense.

Directed by Rian Johnson (who also directed Brick, which I love), Looper stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Joe, Bruce Willis as his 30 year older self, and Emily Blunt as the mother of an unusual young boy.

A lot of effort was put into making Gordon-Levitt look like Bruce Willis. Sometimes it works. JGL clearly put a lot of effort into learning Willis’ mannerisms and facial expressions and it pays off. But sometimes it looks creepy. JGL’s eyebrows look weirdly and overly made-up at times, drawing focus to how he looks rather than what he’s doing.

It’s also a very violent movie. The violence is tastefully done, I guess, by which I mean that we aren’t lingering on blown off heads and spilling guts. There is definitely lots of blood and blood spattering but I suppose that’s to be expected in a modern day mob movie. Probably the thing that bothered me the most was that people were laughing during certain scenes where there was no reason to be laughing.

Sid was absolutely adorable and hardly seemed to be acting. Quite an amazing performance from one so young. However, the kid was a brat. Preventing his mother’s death may have been the event that ensured he didn’t become the Rainmaker, but children need discipline and he certainly wasn’t getting any.

Ultimately, the movie was far too gritty for me to really like. I’m not saying it isn’t worth seeing but I can’t say that you’ll like it. (If you’re really looking for a good movie, watch Warrior with Tom Hardy and Joel Edgerton. I won’t be reviewing it here since it’s not fantasy/sci-fi but it is the most amazing movie I have seen in a long time. Seriously. I can’t recommend it highly enough. It was absolutely beautiful.)

Leave a Reply

