Stained Glass

Stained glass has a very beautiful history. Originally used in churches to help the illiterate masses understand what their priests were telling them in Latin, churches continue to have the best examples of what can be done in the medium (my church has some gorgeous stained glass windows which I am as proud of as if I had made them myself). The rise of the Art Deco movement pushed stained glass into the mainstream and there are some beautiful old homes in my city that have fine examples of stained glass from that time period. I love to look at stained glass, whether it is just pieces of colored glass in a window or an actual picture.

So imagine my delight in discovering a series of artwork by Jian Guo that depicts scenes from The Lord of the Rings as stained glass windows. Like the original article says, I’m not entirely sure these could be made into real windows, but they are still absolutely lovely.

Birthday Party of Baggins

Rest in Gildor’s Forest

 

Be sure to visit the artist’s website to see more scenes, including Moria and Lothlorien.

Looking at these illustrations also made me think of the opening to the best Disney movie ever. I refer, of course, to Beauty and the Beast.

One thought on “Stained Glass

  1. Lilia Rhodes says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I also love looking at stained glass artworks especially in churches because these artworks add to the church’s serene atmosphere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

