The Future of Dreams

Whilst perusing the Internet the other day, I stumbled upon this article: Neuroscientists successfully control the dreams of rats. Could humans be next? Seems pretty terrifying to me. But it did get me thinking about two movies that I absolutely love.

Paprika

I remember when this movie came out in theaters and, reading the reviews, thought it was something that I would really want to see. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to watch it until several years later when I happened to catch it at a local anime convention. It was just as good as I was hoping.

Directed by Satoshi Kon, Paprika tells the story of a psychotherapist who uses her alter-ego (named Paprika) to help patients with their problems through dream therapy. One of her colleagues invents a device that could revolutionize the process, but when one of the prototypes gets stolen, it becomes clear very quickly how dangerous the devices are in the wrong hands. Beautifully made with an excellent soundtrack, Paprika is definitely worth watching. Be warned though, some of the movie is unsettling and this is not a movie for children. To whet your appetite, here are the opening credits:

 

Inception

I’ve heard a lot that Inception is a copy of Paprika. I disagree. I’d be willing to bet that Chirstopher Nolan is a fan of Paprika, but beyond the fact that both movies deal with the manipulation of dreams, I personally don’t see much similarity between the movies (Disclaimer: it has been a year or two since I last saw Paprika. I would welcome examples proving me wrong on this).

Most likely, you’ve seen the movie. But in case you haven’t, Dom Cobb used to be incredibly skilled in dream espionage. After a personal tragedy, Cobb has been on the run until he is offered the chance of a lifetime: Inception. If Cobb can successfully implant an idea into his employer’s business rival, his employer will see that Cobb is given the only thing he wants: to go home. Possibly featuring the most handsome ensemble cast EVER, Inception also lays claim to one of the most amazing fight scenes I’ve ever seen.

 

So. Paprika and Inception may just be sci-fi/fantasy movies, but considering the original article, they certainly seem a lot more disturbing don’t they?

Leave a Reply

