The Avengers Review

Well, it’s finally here. The Avengers. After several years of the (mostly excellent) lead-up background movies, they’ve all come together to save the world.

I’m going to try and make this post relatively un-detailed. So no spoilers. I stumbled upon an article yesterday that ended up giving away a huge spoiler. WITHOUT WARNING. It ruined my morning. Especially since I hadn’t even really been looking at pictures or any other articles about the movie since I wanted to be surprised. Anyways, enough whining.

I went to the midnight showing, an excellent decision. A few costumes, but mainly plastic masks or shields, and a lot of Marvel related t-shirts on attendees. The previews: The Expendables 2 (I don’t really care about this one but the theater I was in lost it when Chuck Norris and Jean Claude Van Damme showed up), The Amazing Spiderman (yeah, it looks awesome, but despite loving the earlier movies (or maybe because of) I just can’t seem to get excited about this one), Frankenweenie (Tim Burton’s early short film about a boy who brings his dog back to life extended to feature length), and Brave (very excited about this one- Pixar’s first female heroine and it looks like it’s going to be a really beautiful film). Um, there were more than this I think but I was kind of tired and honestly? I wasn’t there for the previews.

And then the movie finally started! Yay! It followed the fairly generic formula for ensemble action movies: introduce villain/world threatening problem, round up separate heroes, highlight problems amongst heroes, somehow they band together and then epic battle(s) ensue followed by heroes saving the world. And that’s what happened. In the most perfect way possible.

A problem for movies with large ensembles means that characters don’t get a lot of time to be fleshed out that well. Film makers tend to resort to broad characterizations to help audiences keep track of who’s who. Fortunately, Marvel has eliminated that problem with the origin movies. So we already know who everyone is pretty much. Hawkeye and Black Widow deserve to get their own movies after this though- their relationship, and their separate characters, are amazing. I mean seriously, Black Widow? Girl’s got nothing except her body and her guns and she could handle any one of those superheroes no problem. Oh, and her scene with Loki? My jaw hit the floor. Also, I love Agent Coulson. So much.

The one-liners and banter in this movie are incredible and I’m going to have to see this movie again simply because I missed half the movie laughing. The fight scenes are wonderful (I’m running out of synonyms for amazing here…) and result in total geek outs, especially when you see who’s fighting who. Loki is the best villain that we’ve seen so far in these movies and Tom Hiddleston brings a level of creepy/crazy to this movie that we never saw in Thor. Of course, I might just be biased because I love Viking mythology so much.

The movie absolutely lived up to my expectations. I think Joss Whedon successfully annihilated any doubts people might have had that he couldn’t handle directing this movie.  And best of all, a sequel was clearly hinted at in the end credits and I have heard rumors of a Thor sequel and a Captain America sequel as well. Awesome. Also, if you go to see the movie, be sure to stay to the end, the very end, of the credits. You should probably know that already, but seriously. Stay.

Oh and I’ve heard about the Agent Coulson shorts that are on the Thor and Captain America Blu-Ray’s, but if you don’t have Blu-Ray like me, you can see them both here.

Ok, I lied. I’m putting a spoiler in here. Highlight below if you want to read it. But don’t read it if you haven’t seen the movie. Don’t. You’re only ruining it for yourself if you do.

Joss Whedon, why must you always kill the best character?!?!? You did it with Walsh in Serenity and now you did it with Agent Coulson. I understand his death was the necessary catalyst to solidify the separate heroes into The Avengers but still. I loved him and now’s he dead. No more unflappable responses to ridiculous situations, no more lovely dry humor. *sob*

Ok, spoiler finished. Just wanted to get it out of my system.

One thought on “The Avengers Review

  1. […] been to see The Avengers 3 times now (don’t judge me, that movie is amazing). And every time during the trailers, I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

