The Avengers

The Super Bowl was on a few days ago. Did I care? Not really. I went to a party for it though. Because the house was big with nice TVs and there were friends there. I’m still not entirely sure who won. (It was the Giants, right? The team without pretty boy Brady?)

Anyways, this caught my eye during the commercials:

I only saw a glimpse of it and didn’t hear any of it then (due to the aforementioned friends), but I checked it later. Pretty exciting! I’m not particularly a fan of comic books, and something tells me that it is probably better that way. Comic book characters usually have long back stories with numerous opponents and villains. How could all that story be smushed into a satisfying 2ish hour movie? Or even a trilogy? I don’t think it could. So being a fan of just the movies (which I am for the most part) means that I don’t have to worry about things like: Which villains will they choose?!?! How will they make it work?!!?

Back to The Avengers. Marvel has been preparing for this for a long time. And preparing well. The Avengers group is made up of Iron Man, Black Widow, Hawkeye, the Hulk, Thor, and Captain America. Brought together by Nick Fury, director of S. H. I. E. L. D., The Avengers movie will have the heroes saving the world from the villainous plots of Loki.

Like I said, Marvel has been planning this one for a while. Each hero has been given their own origin movie, except for Hawkeye and Black Widow. The Incredible Hulk with Edward Norton (replaced with Mark Ruffalo for this film) came out in 2008, as did Iron Man where we first met Tony Stark. Iron Man 2 came out in 2010 (where we first saw the Black Widow), followed closely the next year by Thor and Captain America: The First Avenger. I have seen all of these movies at this point except for Thor, which I’m bit nervous about because I’m scared it will be so different from the actual mythology that I’ll have a hard time just enjoying the movie.

I’m not sure when Marvel first decided to do The Avengers movie, but if I remember correctly, Iron Man was the first time we saw Nick Fury in an after-credits clip. I suppose the success of the origin movies only ensured the production of this one.

The official details: Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man/Tony Stark, Chris Evans as Captain America/Steve Rogers, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk/Bruce Banner, Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye/Clint Barton, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow/Natasha Romanoff, and Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury. Tom Hiddleston is the villain Loki. Directed by Joss Whedon (yay!), The Avengers comes out on May 4th. I’ll leave you with the official trailer.

3 thoughts on “The Avengers

  1. ouija board says:

    You know, that Avenger’s movie trailer was cool and all, but WTF was wrong with Captain America’s costume?

    Like

  2. Grimmella says:

    […] I’ve mentioned before, I was initially a bit nervous about seeing Thor. I love Norse mythology and I could tell from the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

