Erin Morgenstern

(DISCLAIMER- I’m a horrible photographer so these pictures aren’t the best. Hopefully you’ll get the idea though!)

This past Friday, I had the opportunity to see Erin Morgenstern, the author of The Night Circus. I read the book a few months ago and loved it. You can read my review of it here. So when a friend mentioned that she would be coming to a bookstore in the area, I knew I had to go.

The event took place at an independent bookstore in the Atlanta area called Fox Tale Book Shoppe. It’s a gorgeous little book store in the downtown historic part of Woodstock. I got there about an hour early since I had no idea how large a crowd would be there and I knew I could always find something to do in a bookstore. I ended up standing right next to the table where she stood to talk.

The table where Erin Morgenstern sat. (Sorry it's a bit dark- I thought my flash was on!)

I was thisclose to her! Again- sorry it's so dark. I didn't want to use flash here because I was afraid I would blind her.

 

The bookstore had created an absolutely amazing window display based on The Night Circus. Somehow, Morgenstern saw a picture of the display (through Twitter, I think). When Fox Tale asked her to come for a visit, she agreed!

The display that started it all!

So she came. She spoke for about an hour. Some highlights: she read the chapter where we first meet Bailey; she mentioned that the original idea was based on some Edward Gorey-esque (love!) figures in top hats and fur coats that she created during NaNoWriMo; The Night Circus itself took off when she sent those characters to the circus. Also, she spoke a bit about the fact that film rights have been bought already by Summit Entertainment (very exciting! this book is just screaming to be made into a movie).

windowdisplay2

Another view of the display.

Once she finished speaking, everybody went out the back door of the store and wound into a line around to the front. I was almost the very last person and it was a fairly cool night. But it provided an opportunity to speak to other book lovers and enjoy an beautiful night outside. I also got a chance to really look at all the wonderful displays Fox Tale employees had created for the night.

A closeup of the display. That's a glass swan next to the frame.

 

Another closeup of the window.

 

This table was set up right at the front door.

 

This was a small table set up behind the front window display.

 

Almost there! A bit hard to see that well but the light fixtures were absolutely gorgeous!

Finally, it was my turn. She asked if she could personalize it (I said yes), we spoke for a few minutes about how beautiful the book design was (she said she got lucky there, as she had no control over what the publishers decided to do), and then she agreed to a picture. I stammered out my thanks and walked away tightly gripping my brand new and freshly signed hardback, feeling slightly euphoric. It was my first author signing and I’m so glad it was such a pleasant, intimate one.

Me with Erin Morgenstern!

It was a beautiful night.

For Mary- Beau Reves (Means "good dreams" in French)- Erin Morgenstern

2 thoughts on “Erin Morgenstern

  1. Jerry C. says:

    I guess it runs in the genes on some level or other — I was (and in some ways still am) enchanted with Gorey and even more and much earlier with Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes, a different but not ultimately dissimilar night circus.

    Fox Tale looks like an astonishing shop. They should have won the Neil Gaiman competition that brought Gaiman to Little Shop of Stories a couple of years ago.

    Like

    • Mary says:

      Perhaps it is! I too have been in love with Something Wicked This Way Comes (and even more so with Bradbury) ever since my 6th grade English teacher pulled it off the shelf one day handed it to me and said “Here Mary, I think you’ll like this one.” How she knew I have no idea.

      Apparently the window displays are something that Fox Tale does quite frequently. They also seem to have author events several times a week. I’m very glad I’ve discovered it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

