You Can Keep Your ThunderCats!

This is the cartoon I’m most nostalgic about.

That’s right. David the Gnome.

It came on Nickelodeon in the late 1980’s. Most of what I have seen says 1987 or 1988 which would have made me about three years old. I remember watching this show when I was about 6 or 7 so it must have been replayed later than that. It came on on summer mornings and my sister and I would religiously watch the show. Once it finished we knew it was time for our grandmother to take us to swim class.

Ahhh. Idyllic Childhood. How I miss you.

So the cartoon was based on two books called The Gnomes and The Secret of the Gnomes by Rien Poortvliet and Wil Huygen. We actually owned The Gnomes, although I’m fairly certain that my fantasy-addled child brain thought that book was a field guide published completely separately from the show.

Basically, David (a gnome) was married to Lisa (also a gnome). David was a doctor who traveled around on his trusty and totally awesome fox, Swifty. Trolls were bad and animals were good. I also remember there being some pretty heavy issues discussed and some pretty scary scenes. Although, I was not allowed to read Goosebumps growing up since they freaked me out so bad, so don’t take my word for that.

I haven’t seen the show since that summer (watching it now might ruin my view of it, but I doubt it). But it is now available on DVD through Amazon. I’ll be purchasing it soon, I promise you.

Leave a Reply

