Game of Thrones: Season 2

I love the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. I was introduced to them in high school by an amazing teacher who constantly fed my book addiction. Of course, at that time only three of the books had been published. So I had to wait for Feast for Crows to come out. And wait another five(!) years for Dance With Dragons. And who knows how long until Winds of Winter will be done…

Anyways, I’m a fan. It was pretty exciting to hear the books were being made into an HBO miniseries. HBO would certainly be able to show all the more, um, colorful bits and a miniseries would be able to give it more depth than a short two hour movie could. Today I found that some of the actors/characters that will be appearing in season two (the adaption of the second book Clash of Kings) were announced. Here’s my thoughts on them.

Natalie Dormer will be Margaery Tyrell. She’s pretty and cute which I always pictured Margaery to be. Not beautiful, but certainly pretty. She’ll be playing a pretty big role so it’s important they get her right.

Ben Crompton as Dolorous Edd. Edd’s long face is mentioned just as frequently as his dry wit. I can totally see Crompton as one of the Night’s Watch and as the dour Edd. Edd is a minor role but pretty important, especially for his comic relief.

Gwendoline Christie as Brienne. Brienne is one of my favorite characters in the books. She is supposed to be pretty ugly and very mannish. Christie certainly isn’t ugly, but she is a bit unusual looking and I can imagine that she could fit into the role of Brienne well with some cosmetic help.

Nonso Anozie as Xaro Xhoan Daxos. I imagined Xaro to be a bit taller and thinner but it will interesting to see what he does with the role, especially once he’s got his feathered cape on.

Patrick Malahide as Balon Greyjoy. Malahide looks appropriately stern and forbidding, as he should for one of the ironborn. The original article describes him as the father of Theon and Yara. Theon’s sister is Asha, so I’m hoping “Yara” is a mistake and not a character name change. Especially since Asha is a really cool and interesting character and I would hate to see her changed.

Tom Wlaschiha as Jaqen H’gar. Another character I’m really excited to see. Jaqen is instrumental in Arya’s story line and he’s very mysterious. I hope they get his hair right.

Hannah Murray as Gilly. Once she’s appropriately dirtied and mussed, I’m sure she’ll be a fine Gilly. Not beautiful, but certainly pretty.

Roy Dotrice as Hallyne. One of the pyromancers in King’s Landing, he becomes an ally and helper of sorts for Tyrion.

Carice van Houten as Melisandre. She looks like a really fantastic choice. Melisandre is supposed to beautiful and delicate.  So, physically, van Houten looks perfect. Hopefully, they will get her hair right too.

Oona Chaplin as Jeyne. SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER Seriously, if you haven’t read the books, don’t read this part. Here goes: Since Jeyne Poole doesn’t show up again until Dance with Dragons, this is clearly Jeyne Westerling, Robb’s wife. She looks pretty and girlish. Ok, spoilers done. SPOILER DONE SPOILER DONE SPOILER DONE.

Liam Cunningham as Davos. I love Liam Cunningham. And I love Davos. This is excellent. I could almost see him as Stannis too, but Davos works just fine for me.

Stephen Dillane as Stannis Baratheon. He’ll need to shave his head but yeah, he’ll be a good Stannis.

Michael McElhatton as Roose Bolton. Oh boy. I’m creeped out already. I wonder if they’ll be doing something to his eyes to make them icier/bluer.

Karl Davies as Alton Lannister. Who’s Alton? I have no idea. Not a character from the books, it will be interesting to see what role he takes in the show.

Rose Leslie as Ygritte. She’s actually a red head so that’s nice. Ygritte wasn’t really all that pretty but Leslie should be alright.

So that’s the casting news so far. I can’t wait for the new season to start up, which will hopefully mean that the first season will be released on DVD. Once these actors are dressed and dirtied appropriately, I think they are going to be some really good choices.

You can see the original article and casting info here.  (EDIT 4/19/12: That link no longer seems to take you to the article- perhaps try this one instead for a gallery of the new faces in season 2.)

Be sure to check out the trailers for the second season! You can see them here and here.

One thought on “Game of Thrones: Season 2

  1. […] news has already be let out as I wrote about here. So this is a short trailer, but it gives some hints about what’s coming. That’s […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

